Reviews

Online reviews for Valhalla Pines Campground as of July 13 2024
Google 4.8 stars, 52 reviews
Airbnb 4.8 stars, 133 reviews and Superhost status
Hipcamp 98% and Star Host status
, 78 ratings, 57 reviews

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 3 by Andrea in July 2024: We stayed at Valhalla Campground for one night as we made our way toward Vancouver. It was extremely clean and well organized. Tom is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The other campers here were quiet and respectful. The trees really helped with the heat as well. I would highly recommend a stay here if you’re in need of a spot to camp.

Airbnb Review for RV Site 1 by Brent in July 2024: Tom was a fantastic host and the camping was absolutely beautiful. There was a ton of hiking, biking, and kayaking very close to camp. We stayed for a month and could have stayed all summer and really enjoyed ourselves.

Google Review for the Hut with Queen Bed by Mikey in July 2024: This campground is magical 🧡

My favorite part of this place is the atmosphere that the owner (Tom) tries to cultivate. He’s one of the friendliest and most intuitive camp hosts that I have ever met. You can tell that he has worked hard to attract the right people here to give you an experience that will make you want to return every camping season!

Facts:
– the communal space is amazing
– the bathrooms are large and clean
– the property is beautiful

Why this place is rad:
– musicians and campfire singing were highly encouraged
– we ended up making tons of friends and had communal meals
– Tom had tons of secret local recommendations for adventures
– the people who come here are outstanding
– the owner goes above and beyond for environmental stewardship, which is a golden ticket in my books

This place offers everything from communal vibes to secluded sites where you could get some peace and quiet. I loved it!

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 1 by Philip in July 2024: Tent site 1 is at the corner of the property and along the main road. There was plenty of shade and a bit of a view up the valley. This was a nice semi-central location to the activities we scheduled. I appreciated having the community building for showers and cooking. We had a positive experience with Yuki, a Valhalla Pines work-stay employee. Our son had mentioned that he wanted to learn Japanese before arriving. We told Yuki and she made our children hand made gifts: letters of the katakana alphabet stored in origami pouches! It was very sweet.

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 2 by Riley in July 2024: Super beautiful spot with very nice amenities. Tom was super nice and helpful if u ever need him.

Google Review for Tent Site 5 by Gabrielle in July 2024: I camped here for a few nights while exploring the surrounding area. Tom, Yuka and Shen were all so lovely and helpful! I appreciate their hospitality and kindness. This is a special campground that has enough space between campsites to feel private, there are amenities that allow some comforts of home if you’re looking for a hot shower and kitchen to cook in, and providing wifi is a special treat in an area that otherwise does not have phone signal. Close enough for a trip to Nelson if you need to go to town for something. Tom was very accommodating and flexible with me when plans changed last minute. It’s clear that this campground means a lot to him, and the energy he brings to the space is much appreciated. This won’t be my last time visiting! I came home and told all my friends about the lovely quiet campsite in Vallican, a must-visit when in BC.

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 12 by Lenore in July 2024: We had a fine time camping overnight at Valhalla Pines. Site 12 had the perfect size tent space for our three person tent, the showers/bathrooms were clean and pleasant, and everyone we met in the community area was friendly! We’d definitely stop by again.

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 14 by Tiffani in July 2024: We would go back!!! This campsite was amazing. It was a tent site and there is electricity which was very convenient for a travelling with two toddlers. We enjoyed the community building a lot. There is a fridge and freezer so we didn’t have to worry about storing our food or bringing pots and pans and dishes. Best of all the area it is absolutely gorgeous in this part of BC. Tom was a great communicator and was just lovely to be around

Google Review for the Tree Hut by Martynas in July 2024: Had a great stay at tree cabin. Very well maintained campsite. Tom will you tips for outdoor activities. Highly recommend! Great value

Hipcamp Review for the Hut with Bunk Beds by Monica in July 2024: Great location – cabins are cozy and
cute It’s so great to have access to the bathroom/kitchen as well Tom’s a great host – thank you!

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 5 by Alicia in June 2024: Honestly one of the best camp sites we’ve been to – a true hidden gem! Tom is a wonderful and welcoming host who provided us with plenty of great suggestions of things to do in the area. He’s a proud local and is in the know! The rest of the team are fantastic and incredibly generous with their time too – two of the staff took us climbing (which was amazing) and there are opportunities to engage in delicious group meals. They really want to make your time in the area as good as it can be. There is a rare authentic community feel to the campsite while also being spacious enough for privacy and tranquility. The community areas are also very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen, hot showers, flush toilets and good WiFi connection. Can’t rate this site highly enough, we wish we could stay for longer and would love to come back!

Hipcamp Review for RV Site 2 by Linda in May 2024: The campsite was perfect. We have a 17 ft trailer and were able to get in and out easily. It was such a lovely forest setting, very quiet. Very cute community room where we were able to relax & play cards

Hipcamp Review for the Tree Hut by Ben in May 2024: This spot really is a gem. The perfect mix of privacy and community, and the price really can’t be beat. Tom made me feel at ease right away, and was quick to respond to any questions I had. An incredibly gracious host who truly went above and beyond. I’ll be back someday for sure : )

Hipcamp Review for the Tree Hut by Elmira in May 2024: We really enjoyed our stay at Tom’s tree cabin. The cabin itself is relatively small but big enough to fit a large bed, a small table and a chair, a heater and a few other little things. The bed was very comfortable for two people. The whole camping area is very peaceful and is surrounded by beautiful pine trees. There is a communal house that has all the necessities (stove, sink, fridge, pots and pans, etc.), including two washrooms. The house is accessible 24/7. There is lots to do around the area but if you don’t have much time upon arrival you can take a short walk to the river. Tom has given us a lot of useful information before we arrived and was very helpful while we stayed there.

Google Review for the Tree Hut by Haida in May 2024: I had an amazing adventure staying at the Valhalla Pines Campground and Cabins last week for four nights. If you are looking for a great place to stay and visit the Slocan Valley in the Kootenays of British Columbia, I highly recommend Valhalla Pines in Vallican. I rented the Tree Hut which was warm, cozy and comfortable. I cooked all of my own meals in the Community Building, enjoying the company of other travellers. The campfire on the last night was shared with other travellers and the campsite host, Tom. Tom is friendly and goes out of his way to ensure his guests are having a great stay. His hospitality is top notch. He showed me many great spots to visit, swim and meander forest trails. I hope you will enjoy my photos and consider Valhalla Pines in the Slocan Valley for a great Spring, Summer or Fall vacation. The only downside was I did not get to go canoeing on Slocan Lake as hoped because of the wind this week. Luckily the wind was not felt in the forest, so I could enjoy the river and trees and abundant wild flora. Thank you, Tom!!

Airbnb Review for the Tree Hut by Patricia in May 2024: The cabin was delightful and the setting an oasis of peace and quiet. Facilities spotless and more than adequate for our needs. I only wish we could have spent longer than one night on our road trip.

Hipcamp Review for the Tree Hut by Bridgette in May 2024: Little Paradise. My heart was full leaving this beautiful place. This was our first time in Valhalla and I’m so glad we got to stay in this Sanctuary! The hut is super cozy and warm after a long day and the community hall has everything you need in case you forgot to bring something! The little area around this hidden gem is what sells it. From Nelson all the way to New Denver, there is so much culture! I hope to visit again soon❤️🤗

Hipcamp Review for the Tent Site 3 by Jenna in May 2024: Lovely and quiet camping spot with great kitchen and bathroom amenities in the community building. Tom was a wonderful host, helpful and kind. We would stay again!

Hipcamp Review for the Tent Site 3 by Richard in April 2024: Nice quite area. Awesome perks of having the community building, makes life a lot nicer while camping.

Hipcamp Review for RV Site 2 by Jeff in April 2024: Tom’s property is beautiful. This is the first forest RV site that I didn’t have to spend 20 minutes trying to get level. The community facilities are clean. There’s no cell phone service, but there’s decent Wi-Fi, which is another huge plus. I would definitely recommend Valhalla Pines.

Airbnb Review for the Tree Hut by Peggy in April 2024: Tom was inefficient at making us feel welcome (including our service animal). He didn’t have toilet paper in the washroom or soap in the kitchen to do the dishes which are mandatory to do. Complained about our later checkout even though his page said from 9pm to 9pm. The Wi-Fi password in the actual room was incorrect, and we had to go to his private residence late at night when we checked in, which he later got upset about for causing disturbance. But despite these things we still had an amazing stay in a beautiful little “tree fort” paradise and would still recommend you check out the spot.

Google Review for RV Site 1 by Sean in February 2024: Beautiful location, great sites, excellent amenities with a great community kitchen and community building. Tom was also very friendly and easy to deal with. Will be going back.

Google Review for RV Site 2 by Joshua in October 2023: (Translated by Google) We stayed there for one night with our RV. It was in October. It is a beautiful place and also has many trees. The spaces are large and it has a table, benches and a fire pit. There is a common room and lots to discover. The owner even took the time to inform us about the region. The price was almost too cheap compared to the average in the region. In the evening there were also white tail deer running around the RV. Only recommended.

(Original)
Wir waren mit unserem RV eine Nacht dort. Es war im Oktober. Es ist ein schöner Ort und hat auch noch viele Bäume. Die Plätze sind gross und es hat einen Tisch, Bänke und eine Feuerstelle. Es gibt einen Gemeinschaftsraum und Vieles zu entdecken. Der Besitzer hatte sich sogar Zeit genommen uns über die Region zu informieren. Der Preis war schon fast zu günstig gegenüber dem Schnitt in der Region. Dazu liefen am Abend noch white Tail Deer um das RV. Nur zu empfehlen.


Google Review for Tent Site 3 by Joshua in October 2023: Alright campground if you like camping out in somebody’s backyard for an expensive price. Also being able to see hid neighbours houses well you camp. He was a good host though.

Google Review for the Tree Hut by Mark in September 2023: I stayed at Valhalla Pines Campground for three nights in September, 2023. Beautiful campground in the beautiful Slocan Valley. Tom is a great host, and very knowledgeable about activities in the area including knowledge of the many great hiking trails in the surrounding area as well as info about the many other activities in this beautiful area. Highly recommend!

Airbnb Review for the Tree Hut by Donavan in September 2023: lovely stay among the pines. thanks for everything tom – hope to return one day.

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 2 by Michael in September 2023: Beautiful quiet campground, plenty of space between sites, and awesome community bldg w/refrigerator, stove, tables, couch, and two clean private bathrooms. Tom is an excellent host, very helpful and knowledgeable about nearby hot springs, waterfalls, rail trails for biking and hiking, and beaches along rivers and lakes. I will definitely be back!!

Airbnb Review for RV Site 1 by SallyLynn in September 2023: This was a beautiful setting, so peaceful and quiet, with great amenities -flush toilets, showers, and an indoor kitchen if needed. We were impressed by the comfortable community room, complete with wifi. Tom is a great host: available, attentive, and respectful. We will be back.

Airbnb Review for the Tree Hut by Chris in August 2023: I needed a quiet space for a couple nights, while on my way home from a lengthy camping trip. With rain in the forecast it was nice to have a place over my head. The place was simple and met my needs. I didn’t make use of the kitchen or community building, but it was nice to have that option. Tom communicated right away and was helpful with directions.

Hipcamp Review for the Hut with Bunk Beds by Julie in August 2023: Tom runs a great campsite: it was quiet, welcoming, in a beautiful setting with lots of trees and a community vibe. It’s just far enough off highway 6 but also close to the Slocan river and trails.

Hipcamp Review for RV Site 2 by Lauren in August 2023: We parked our little trailer on Tom’s land for two nights and had a wonderful stay! We camped with our kids. Campsites were well spaced, clean, and surrounded by beautiful forest and mountains. Our site was connected to a well marked trail down to the community building which was awesome. Lot of resources (maps, recs, kitchen, bathrooms, showers, music). Our kids loved it, there was a cute kids’ tree house for them to explore. We left the campsite during the day and hiked at Valhalla provincial park. We love how eco friendly Tom keeps everything. Can’t wait to come back!

Airbnb Review for the Hut with Bunk Beds by Lisa in August 2023: Tom’s place is a beautiful spot tucked away in the Valhalla range . The common kitchen area and two bathrooms are beautifully finished , clean snd well equipped. The sound of the crickets lull you to sleep. Tom a gracious host . Both friendly and kind . He has created a beautiful refuge with a collection of unique huts nicely soaced for privacy.

Hipcamp Review for the Hut with Bunk Beds by Kyana in August 2023:The whole property is beautiful and very convenient for campers. The community building is a huge bonus for tenting campers. Showers were nice and clean as well as the kitchen. Tom was super kind and had great advice for things to do around the area

Google Review by Stacy in August 2023: Tom’s place is awesome. Very quaint. He is very welcoming and it’s very close to the river.

Hipcamp Review for the Hut with Bunk Beds by Joanna in July 2023: Great place in a beautiful area of the Slocan Valley! We stayed in hut 1, which was perfect for my daughter and me, and our dog who loved sleeping under the bunk bed in her ‘den’. We met other people staying in various huts and tents when mingling in the community kitchen – a great component of Tom’s place, available to cook in, store food in the fridge, eat at the table, or just chill out. Tom is generous with providing two bathrooms with showers and two kitchen sinks. I recommend Tom’s place

Hipcamp Review for RV Site 2 by Alain in July 2023:Tom is very welcoming. It’s very quiet. The community building is great and well maintained. Shower are very clean.

Google Review by Meghan in July 2023: Quiet campground with nice community kitchen, campfire and washroom facilities. There is no cell service, but the site has great wifi. There are cute little cabins to book if you don’t have a tent or trailer.

Airbnb Review for the Tree Hut by Tim in July 2023: unique clean place bundled in the woods, one of the best stays we had during our road trip ! Thanks for having us !

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 3 by Rob in July 2023: Fantastic spot. Tom was extremely helpful and shared regional events in the area. Very peaceful setting, the community building for showers, cooking , and lounging are modern , cozy and welcoming. I highly recommend if you are travelling through or want a good base camp to explore/bike the Slocan Valley.

Airbnb Review for the Tree Hut by Diane in July 2023: The tree hut at Valhalla Pines is one of those things that you have to experience if you enjoy nature and peaceful surroundings. It was the perfect size for my daughter & I. I enjoyed spending time on the balcony. The community area had all the amenities we needed to prepare our own meals and refrigerate items that needed to stay cool. It was also a great place to meet other like-minded people! There is wifi on-site and washrooms with working toilets and showers. During our stay, we had a group of turkey come through the campsite and on our way home, we saw some deer. Some sheep could also be heard in the distance. It was the perfect location to disconnect from the realities of everyday living and just enjoy the simple things in life!

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 5 by Heather in July 2023: Tom had excellent recommendations for nearby locations to visit and the communal kitchen/bathroom shower area was such an oasis for tent campers. Great host!!!

Airbnb Review for the Tree Hut by Nellie in July 2023: Lovey spot and cozy hut. Great value for what we paid. Tom was friendly and helpful.

Airbnb Review for the Tree Hut by Carol in July 2023: This is a hidden piece of heaven! It’s beautiful here! I rented the Tree House and it was so nice and comfortable. They have showers, bathrooms, full kitchen to use and share. I now wish I had stayed 2 nights to just relax a little more. The other guests were so friendly that you really felt like home.

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 3 by Matt in June 2023: I loved this campsite, it was really quiet, the community building was great and Tom was a great host. I would definitely come back for an even longer stay.

Hipcamp Review for the Tree Hut by Chelsea in June 2023: This hut far exceed my expectations! It was very comfortable, spacious and perfect for a night’s stay! I’d absolutely come back here for a longer stay the next time I’m in the area. A couple towels were provided which was warmly welcomed. There was a space heater in the hut (which I did not need). The beds were very comfortable & warm! The community building has a full kitchen available to use & store your food in. The bathroom facility was very clean & easy to access from inside the common area or from outside. The hot shower was a bonus! There is no cell reception, however, there is WIFI in the community building that extended to the hut (for me at least). The host provided very detailed directions to get there which was very helpful! He was prompt with any questions that I had. 🙂 I highly recommend this accommodation/the camp grounds in general!

Google Review for a tent site by Lex Post in June 2023: A very nice campground in the middle of knowhere. We loved it. The place we had was perfect. The surrounding is perfect. The owner is very polite. The shower is very good and free to use. This is the perfect campground. A little hard to find but when you are there you don’t want to leave………..

Hipcamp Review for a tent site by Julie in June 2023: Arrived at the campsite and was greeted by host Tom. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Campsite clean and well organized. Has a definite hippy vibe, with communal building, housing fully equipped kitchen, seating area and bathroom. Large seating area outside, with multiple seating. Set in the woods but easily expressible to surrounding attractions. Tom made us very welcome and even enjoyed some guitar playing around the campfire on the last night. Well done Tom, you’re a star. Would definitely recommend.

Hipcamp Review for Tent Site 3 by Sarah W in May 2023:
Best Hipcamp Site EVER!
Clean, Bathrooms close by, quiet, had all kinds of unexpected extra features like hammocks, and a community center with a kitchen for all campers to make use of. One of the best campgrounds I have ever been to. Tom is incredibly hospitable. Also offers free Wi-Fi. I can’t say enough good things. I will be back.

Hipcamp Review for RV Site 2 by Patrick A in May 2023: Tom is an excellent host!
Tom is an excellent host full of local knowledge and things to do. The campsite is clean, showers and kitchen areas are very nice. Highly recommended.

Google Review by Radu in March 2023: Excellent camping place, no matter if you’re old school tent camping, RV, camper, or you want a little cabin. Highly recommended and be sure you reserve in advance.

Google Review by E.G. November 2022: If you’re looking for absolute quiet, this is it! We booked 3 nights over labour day long week-end. We were new to the area and the host Tom was Awesome; welcoming, accommodating, full of knowledge about the area and gave us advice and directions about the local trails, beaches and hikes. What a Friend!? The campsites are basically all around his beautiful A-frame house, nestled in the woods far away from road noise. (We did hear the music of a far distant neighbour one night, but the echo made it amazing). Despite the fact we had our own stove, we ended up cooking in the community building which was warm, well equipped, and with the strongest wifi signal. There are also 2 bathrooms with hot showers at the back of the building, and an outdoor sink. We recommend wholeheartedly

Google Review by Kass M. Oct 2022:Amazing campground for tenters or with a trailer. The owner is friendly and very helpful. Whether you are looking for a nearby hike, swimming hole, or anything in between, Tom has you covered. The community building is a haven for any camper. Nice kitchen and showers! No cell service but there is wifi that covers the entire property! Beautiful place to spend some time if you are in the area.

Google Review by Kate Frank August 2022 Camped here for six nights and it was a fantastic experience! Tent spot #5 was large, private and came with a hammock and sun shelter. The community building offers clean bathrooms, a kitchen, lots of space to sit, eat and mingle. Booking is conveniently done online. Highly recommend this campground!


inside the Community Building
Mark Turner, SeattleAug, 2022
RV Site 4
“Valhalla Pines is a fantastic place, if you are in the area we highly recommend staying here. The community building is well equipped, a fun place to meet fellow travellers. Tom is super friendly and very knowledgeable about the area.”

Denver
DenverJuly, 2022
Tree Hut
“This place was awesome. Hammocks everywhere and we stayed in a little tree house. The shared bathroom and kitchen were very clean and comfortable. Highly recommend!”

Kelly PriceMay, 2022
Tree Hut
“Valhalla Pines is a little piece of heaven! An absolutely beautiful piece of land with very unique accomodations .
There is a myriad of things to see and do in the area. Tom has extensive knowledge of the region and can point you in the direction of some great adventures! I will be back!”
Nic, Coquitlam, CanadaAugust, 2020
Tent Site
“Awesome property in Slocan Valley. Very peaceful. No complaints.”
April
April, Vancouver, CanadaAugust, 2020
Tent Site
“Staying Tom’s was superb! So many great amenities and lots of things to do in the area. We loved Tom’s sparkling personality and hospitable. He gave us a quick orientation of the ground and gave us lots of suggestions of things we can do in the area. He checked in on us when we got there and just before we left. Highly recommend this spot!”
Zuzanna, Vancouver, CanadaAugust, 2020
Hut with Bunk Beds
We loved our stay at Valhalla pines! So glad we visited! Our little hut was a perfect summer getaway for our little family. The property is awesome for children too, our little one explored barefoot the whole time. Tom is so nice and super helpful. Good vibes! Next time I hope I will get an opportunity to play some music with Tom, that’s one thing I feel I missed out on. We will come back for sure!
Staci, Calgary, CanadaAugust, 2020
Tree Hut
Toms place is the best! Amazing location and the amenities are an added bonus, all around we had a beautiful time!
Bob, Cordy and Zippy, Whistler, CanadaJuly, 2020
Hut with bunk beds
For anyone looking at visiting Valhalla Pines let me assure you that the cabins, surroundings and amenities (hot shower!) are a joy to behold. You will enjoy the tranquility that comes from a well spaced campground in which your site feels like your home. Tom could not have been a more charming and thoughtful host. Don’t miss out on this truly unique airbnb experience.
Grigory
Grigory, Vancouver, CanadaJuly, 2020
Tent Site
We stayed at Tom’s campground for 5 days. It was great! Great camping experience in a nice area! Tom is a great host, very welcoming and caring. His dog Sophie is friendly and well mannered. You can tell that the property itself is a work in progress and Tom has many good ideas on how to enhance guests’ experience. I have to say it was never loud. Guests, host and surroundings were pretty quiet at all times. All in all, it was a great experience of a private camping with some extra facilities like Wi-Fi and hot shower. Location is good if you want to do hikes at Valhalla or check out towns and lakes/rivers around.
Katherine
Katherine, North Vancouver, CanadaJune 23, 2020
Tent Site
Sweet little campground with very nice shared amenities. Would love to come back and try the small cabins one day!
A peaceful, large property with tons of great tent spots. Tom was a very attentive, generous and thoughtful host. Great amenities included clean clean toilet, very convenient sink with hot water, shower, multiple fire pits, picnic tables, wall plugs in the communal area. I would recommend this place!
Mayuka
Mayuka, Burnaby, CanadaJune 22, 2020
Tent Site
Tom is welcoming and gave us good advices about where to see around the campsite! Nice and quiet camping place!
valhalla pines logo with no text
Josh Pilgrim, CanadaJune 15-19, 2020
Tree Hut with Queen Bed
Island essence! Chest drops as you fade into serenity. The property is wide and open. Beautiful canopy helps shade the hot days. Had an amazing stay in the tree hut. Comfortable big bed with a wonderful view off the porch. The owner is incredible, very conscious, good hearted fellow. This is where you wanna be experiencing the Kootnay!
Jocelyn, Kelowna, CanadaJune 19-21, 2020
Tree Hut with Queen Bed
“Tom’s hut was wonderful. Everything you need for a weekend away or a quick little stopover in Slocan between destinations. Tom was a great host, welcomed us upon our late arrival and showed us around. The hut had electricity, a warm and comfy bed, shared toilet and even hot water! The location was tough to find, however once we got on the wifi we immediately got instructions and knew where to go-this also could’ve been because we were navigating at night. Wifi is strong and Tom seemed to always be around if we had any questions about our stay or activities to do in the area. We hope to stop on by soon!”
Francesca
Francesca, England, United KingdomJune 13, 2020
Tent Site
Tom is building a lovely little green oasis. We had a great stay and would definitely camp here again.
Libby, Kelowna, CanadaNov 9–Nov 13, 2019
private room with King Bed.
Tom’s home is part of the beautiful, magical Kootenay forest. Tall trees, deer, bald eagles, even wild turkeys all visited the property during my stay. The home itself is spacious yet cosy; offering privacy and also shared spaces. Tom was the perfect host; his instructions and communication were super speedy and clear. He respected each guest’s privacy, while also being super approachable and friendly. The best possible Airbnb experience, thank you!!!
Matthew
Matthew, Canterbury, United KingdomNov 3–Nov 10, 2019
private room queen bed & WIFI
Very relaxing and clean
Valerie, Pessac, FranceNov 7–Nov 9, 2019
private room with King Bed
Tom is a great host. His place is neat, warm and quiet. If you enjoy living in the woods, this will be your Perfect spot.
Joe
Joe, Dallas, TXOct 28–Oct 30, 2019
private room queen bed & WIFI
Tom’s place is a great place to de-stress, unwind and disconnect. Tom is an enjoyable guy to visit with and has a beautiful plot of land well away from the city, but with great roads leading to his place. I had the upstairs balcony room and the view from the bed at night looking at the stars and in the morning as daylight slowly breaks was incredible. Sophie the dog was like a big bear cub, loves attention but very quiet and well behaved. 5 stars!
Barbara
Barbara, Nelson, CanadaOct 26–Oct 27, 2019
private room with King Bed
This place is immaculately clean, warm and cozy . We booked three rooms with friends for a night after a local event . Great value , excellent location .
Matt
Matt, Nelson, CanadaOct 26–Oct 27, 2019
private room with 2 bedsOct 26–Oct 27, 2019
Tom’s place is great.
Luke
Luke, England, United KingdomOct 25–Oct 26, 2019
private room with King Bed
Great location, beautiful nature, awesome host!
Mark
Mark, Vancouver, CanadaSep 29–Oct 14, 2019
private room queen bed & WIFI
Had a great stay and would definitely recommend Valhalla Pines!!
Bradley
Bradley, Prince George, CanadaSep 30–Oct 13, 2019
Valhalla Pines Tent Site 3 w/ WIFI & amenities
Great place!
Brenda
Brenda, Beaumont, CanadaOct 25–Oct 26, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
Tom was kind, thoughtful, helpful and an incredible host in all ways.
Josh
Josh, Terrace, CanadaSep 29–Oct 12, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with 2 beds
Stayed at Tom’s while I was working nights at the pulp mill shutdown. Tom was super accommodating of my sleep schedule. I was comfortable and well rested every day!
Anneke
Anneke, Thunder Bay, CanadaOct 7–Oct 9, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
A great host and a cute dog
Raoul
Raoul, Toronto, CanadaSep 29–Oct 2, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
Tom’s place is an affordable yet classy oasis that serves as an excellent jumping off point for touring the gorgeous Kootenay Rockies.
Bastien
Bastien, Montreal, CanadaSep 27–Sep 29, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room queen bed & WIFI
Great place! Tom is a very helpful and thoughtful host.
Will
Will, Denver, COSep 28–Sep 29, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private hut with WIFI
Great unique space! Would stay again!
valhalla pines favicon
Peter, Mönchengladbach, GermanySep 14–Sep 16, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
Die Unterkunft liegt toll versteckt im Wald. Hatte leider pech mit dem Wetter, aber die Wandermöglichkeiten sind ideal. An Regentagen lohnt eine Rundfahrt mit Besuch von Ainsworth hot Spots und Nelson sowie Kaslo.
The property is great hidden in the forest. Unfortunately had bad luck with the weather, but the hiking opportunities are ideal. On rainy days, a tour with visits to Ainsworth hot spots and Nelson and Kaslo is worthwhile.
Sarah
Sarah, Vernon, CanadaSep 7–Sep 8, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with 2 beds
We arrived late and left early so we didn’t have the opportunity to explore the area but the room we stayed in was cute and the bed was very comfortable.
Drew
Drew, Seattle, WASep 7–Sep 8, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private hut with WIFI
Overall a very unique space. The hut is cool but extremely small. There is space for 2 people to sleep but if you want to hang out you will need to check out the community building. Outdoor shower worked well and water was hot. I would recommend more than 1 night stay as the 23$ cleaning fee and 12$ extra charge per person makes 1 night really pricey for what you get in amenities.
Melanie
Melanie, Edmonton, CanadaSep 4–Sep 5, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
Tom was so sweet and hospitable. We loved our stay.
Pingala
Pingala, Spokane, WASep 1–Sep 2, 2019
Valhalla Pines Tent Site 2 w/ WIFI & amenities
Great host, easy to communicate and the directions he gave was very clear. It was very safe and comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend this place for camping.