Reviews

5 stars

4.8 stars on Airbnb
4.8 stars on Google

Nic, Coquitlam, CanadaAugust, 2020
Tent Site
“Awesome property in Slocan Valley. Very peaceful. No complaints.”
April
April, Vancouver, CanadaAugust, 2020
Tent Site
“Staying Tom’s was superb! So many great amenities and lots of things to do in the area. We loved Tom’s sparkling personality and hospitable. He gave us a quick orientation of the ground and gave us lots of suggestions of things we can do in the area. He checked in on us when we got there and just before we left. Highly recommend this spot!”
Zuzanna, Vancouver, CanadaAugust, 2020
Hut with Bunk Beds
We loved our stay at Valhalla pines! So glad we visited! Our little hut was a perfect summer getaway for our little family. The property is awesome for children too, our little one explored barefoot the whole time. Tom is so nice and super helpful. Good vibes! Next time I hope I will get an opportunity to play some music with Tom, that’s one thing I feel I missed out on. We will come back for sure!
Staci, Calgary, CanadaAugust, 2020
Tree Hut
Toms place is the best! Amazing location and the amenities are an added bonus, all around we had a beautiful time!
Bob, Cordy and Zippy, Whistler, CanadaJuly, 2020
Hut with bunk beds
For anyone looking at visiting Valhalla Pines let me assure you that the cabins, surroundings and amenities (hot shower!) are a joy to behold. You will enjoy the tranquility that comes from a well spaced campground in which your site feels like your home. Tom could not have been a more charming and thoughtful host. Don’t miss out on this truly unique airbnb experience.
Grigory
Grigory, Vancouver, CanadaJuly, 2020
Tent Site
We stayed at Tom’s campground for 5 days. It was great! Great camping experience in a nice area! Tom is a great host, very welcoming and caring. His dog Sophie is friendly and well mannered. You can tell that the property itself is a work in progress and Tom has many good ideas on how to enhance guests’ experience. I have to say it was never loud. Guests, host and surroundings were pretty quiet at all times. All in all, it was a great experience of a private camping with some extra facilities like Wi-Fi and hot shower. Location is good if you want to do hikes at Valhalla or check out towns and lakes/rivers around.
Katherine
Katherine, North Vancouver, CanadaJune 23, 2020
Tent Site
Sweet little campground with very nice shared amenities. Would love to come back and try the small cabins one day!
A peaceful, large property with tons of great tent spots. Tom was a very attentive, generous and thoughtful host. Great amenities included clean clean toilet, very convenient sink with hot water, shower, multiple fire pits, picnic tables, wall plugs in the communal area. I would recommend this place!
Mayuka
Mayuka, Burnaby, CanadaJune 22, 2020
Tent Site
Tom is welcoming and gave us good advices about where to see around the campsite! Nice and quiet camping place!
valhalla pines logo with no text
Josh Pilgrim, CanadaJune 15-19, 2020
Tree Hut with Queen Bed
Island essence! Chest drops as you fade into serenity. The property is wide and open. Beautiful canopy helps shade the hot days. Had an amazing stay in the tree hut. Comfortable big bed with a wonderful view off the porch. The owner is incredible, very conscious, good hearted fellow. This is where you wanna be experiencing the Kootnay!
Jocelyn, Kelowna, CanadaJune 19-21, 2020
Tree Hut with Queen Bed
“Tom’s hut was wonderful. Everything you need for a weekend away or a quick little stopover in Slocan between destinations. Tom was a great host, welcomed us upon our late arrival and showed us around. The hut had electricity, a warm and comfy bed, shared toilet and even hot water! The location was tough to find, however once we got on the wifi we immediately got instructions and knew where to go-this also could’ve been because we were navigating at night. Wifi is strong and Tom seemed to always be around if we had any questions about our stay or activities to do in the area. We hope to stop on by soon!”
Francesca
Francesca, England, United KingdomJune 13, 2020
Tent Site
Tom is building a lovely little green oasis. We had a great stay and would definitely camp here again.
Libby, Kelowna, CanadaNov 9–Nov 13, 2019
private room with King Bed.
Tom’s home is part of the beautiful, magical Kootenay forest. Tall trees, deer, bald eagles, even wild turkeys all visited the property during my stay. The home itself is spacious yet cosy; offering privacy and also shared spaces. Tom was the perfect host; his instructions and communication were super speedy and clear. He respected each guest’s privacy, while also being super approachable and friendly. The best possible Airbnb experience, thank you!!!
Matthew
Matthew, Canterbury, United KingdomNov 3–Nov 10, 2019
private room queen bed & WIFI
Very relaxing and clean
Valerie, Pessac, FranceNov 7–Nov 9, 2019
private room with King Bed
Tom is a great host. His place is neat, warm and quiet. If you enjoy living in the woods, this will be your Perfect spot.
Joe
Joe, Dallas, TXOct 28–Oct 30, 2019
private room queen bed & WIFI
Tom’s place is a great place to de-stress, unwind and disconnect. Tom is an enjoyable guy to visit with and has a beautiful plot of land well away from the city, but with great roads leading to his place. I had the upstairs balcony room and the view from the bed at night looking at the stars and in the morning as daylight slowly breaks was incredible. Sophie the dog was like a big bear cub, loves attention but very quiet and well behaved. 5 stars!
Barbara
Barbara, Nelson, CanadaOct 26–Oct 27, 2019
private room with King Bed
This place is immaculately clean, warm and cozy . We booked three rooms with friends for a night after a local event . Great value , excellent location .
Matt
Matt, Nelson, CanadaOct 26–Oct 27, 2019
private room with 2 bedsOct 26–Oct 27, 2019
Tom’s place is great.
Luke
Luke, England, United KingdomOct 25–Oct 26, 2019
private room with King Bed
Great location, beautiful nature, awesome host!
Mark
Mark, Vancouver, CanadaSep 29–Oct 14, 2019
private room queen bed & WIFI
Had a great stay and would definitely recommend Valhalla Pines!!
Bradley
Bradley, Prince George, CanadaSep 30–Oct 13, 2019
Valhalla Pines Tent Site 3 w/ WIFI & amenities
Great place!
Brenda
Brenda, Beaumont, CanadaOct 25–Oct 26, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
Tom was kind, thoughtful, helpful and an incredible host in all ways.
Josh
Josh, Terrace, CanadaSep 29–Oct 12, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with 2 beds
Stayed at Tom’s while I was working nights at the pulp mill shutdown. Tom was super accommodating of my sleep schedule. I was comfortable and well rested every day!
Anneke
Anneke, Thunder Bay, CanadaOct 7–Oct 9, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
A great host and a cute dog
Raoul
Raoul, Toronto, CanadaSep 29–Oct 2, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
Tom’s place is an affordable yet classy oasis that serves as an excellent jumping off point for touring the gorgeous Kootenay Rockies.
Bastien
Bastien, Montreal, CanadaSep 27–Sep 29, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room queen bed & WIFI
Great place! Tom is a very helpful and thoughtful host.
Will
Will, Denver, COSep 28–Sep 29, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private hut with WIFI
Great unique space! Would stay again!
valhalla pines favicon
Peter, Mönchengladbach, GermanySep 14–Sep 16, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
Die Unterkunft liegt toll versteckt im Wald. Hatte leider pech mit dem Wetter, aber die Wandermöglichkeiten sind ideal. An Regentagen lohnt eine Rundfahrt mit Besuch von Ainsworth hot Spots und Nelson sowie Kaslo.
The property is great hidden in the forest. Unfortunately had bad luck with the weather, but the hiking opportunities are ideal. On rainy days, a tour with visits to Ainsworth hot spots and Nelson and Kaslo is worthwhile.
Sarah
Sarah, Vernon, CanadaSep 7–Sep 8, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with 2 beds
We arrived late and left early so we didn’t have the opportunity to explore the area but the room we stayed in was cute and the bed was very comfortable.
Drew
Drew, Seattle, WASep 7–Sep 8, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private hut with WIFI
Overall a very unique space. The hut is cool but extremely small. There is space for 2 people to sleep but if you want to hang out you will need to check out the community building. Outdoor shower worked well and water was hot. I would recommend more than 1 night stay as the 23$ cleaning fee and 12$ extra charge per person makes 1 night really pricey for what you get in amenities.
Melanie
Melanie, Edmonton, CanadaSep 4–Sep 5, 2019
Valhalla Pines – private room with King Bed
Tom was so sweet and hospitable. We loved our stay.
Pingala
Pingala, Spokane, WASep 1–Sep 2, 2019
Valhalla Pines Tent Site 2 w/ WIFI & amenities
Great host, easy to communicate and the directions he gave was very clear. It was very safe and comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend this place for camping.