Reviews

5 stars
Conor
Conor, Richmond, United Kingdom29 Jun – 1 Jul, 2018
Valhalla Pines – private room with 2 beds
Amazing spot! loved everything about it. Lovely chilled environment, secluded but not too far from shops/cafes/gas etc. So much nature around. Loved the room. Soo comfy! Breakfast was awesome too. All healthy local ingredients. Even got to jam with Tom before we left. Great fun.
Tyler
Tyler, Langley, CanadaJun 5–Jun 6, 2018
Valhalla Pines – private hut with WIFI
Valhalla Pines is a lovely get away. Tom is a great host and very knowledgeable of the area. There is no cell service (which was fine for me) but is something to consider. WIFI is available to allow you to check emails and keep others appraised of your whereabouts. Many of the amenities (shower, toilet) are outside which may be new to some but are nice convenience.
Allen
Allen, Thunder Bay, Canada2 Jun – 3 Jun, 2018
Valhalla Pines – private room with 2 beds
Off the main road but not hard to find and worth the side trip. Lovely bedroom and terrific breakfast. Enjoyed meeting Tom Suzanne and Vanessa and singing a few songs.
Elena
Elena, Calgary, Canada12 May – 13 May, 2018
Valhalla Pines RV Site 1 water, WIFI, 30A + septic
Great little camping spot in Slocan! Nice peaceful lot with an outdoor shower–there’s something magical about looking up at the towering trees during a mundane activity like showering. Love the hammocks too!

2017 Reviews

Mikaela
Mikaela, Spokane, WANov 18–Nov 19, 2017
Valhalla Pines – private room with 2 beds
For our quick get away it was an awesome place to rest our heads! Tom was very helpful at showing us things to do and places to eat. Overall it was a great experience!
Lydia
Lydia, Vancouver, CanadaSep 27–Sep 28, 2017
Valhalla Pines – private hut with WIFI
Tom was super accommodating, and even gave us a little walking tour of the area the next morning and made us feel right at home. Cabin was clean and quaint. Be sure to get directions ahead of time, as there is no data, gps or cell coverage in the area. That being said, locals were familiar with the road and helped us find our way on our evening arrival.
Morgan
Morgan, Vancouver, CanadaSep 4–Sep 5, 2017
Valhalla Pines – private room queen bed & WIFI
What an great getaway! Wish I could’ve stayed longer. Beautiful secluded property and unique accommodations in Tom’s amazing A-frame house. I was only there for one night, but I would happily stay for more. Great central location if you want to explore the Kootenays. Tom is an excellent host and really wants to share his beautiful piece of property with as many guests as possible. He knows a lot about the area and can point out some great places to check out. I felt very welcomed and really enjoyed my time here. Tom is a great representative of the unique Kootenay lifestyle. It is a shared house, so you may be staying with other guests – however that can be a great chance to meet other travellers. I will certainly be back!
Kurt
Kurt, Vancouver, CanadaSep 1–Sep 4, 2017
Valhalla Pines Tent Site 2 w/ WIFI & amenities
The tent camping spot is away from the house in a beautiful grove if trees with plenty of privacy you don’t get in most spots these days. Tom is very kind and accommodating. The region is fantastically beautiful and Tom knows it well. Be sure to ask him tips on thing to see and do! ☺️
Dawn
Dawn, White Fox, CanadaAug 14–Aug 21, 2017
Valhalla Pines – private room queen bed & WIFI
We spent a week at Valhalla Pines and had a very enjoyable stay. Tom, the host, really made our visit. Nestled in what some call the “Slow as You Can” (SLOCAN) Valley, Tom radiates the heart of Kootenay spirit: relaxed, caring, sharing, supportive, “green” and embracing of diversity. We were apprehensive about renting a room in a house, with shared kitchen, bathroom and living area but we were pleasantly surprised. Tom’s house is well suited for this. Our room was private and comfortable. The two bathrooms were clean, and everyone did their part at keeping the kitchen tidy. Tom offers fresh organic garden produce, with abundant fruit trees, and the house is set up to be as environmentally responsible as possible. Although the Valley offers wifi but no cell service, Tom arranged for a phone to make long distance calls over the internet. Tom was very flexible, interacting as much or as little as we were comfortable, and made every effort to be accommodating. He recommended recreational activities and was open to allowing us to use his land for activities that interested us. By the end of the week, I fear we kept him from his many projects as we got involved in conversations on the deck, swims in the river and jamming with his and our instruments. We are so happy to have met Tom and his partner, and would choose his place over a motel without hesitation.
Amanda
Amanda, Burnaby, CanadaAug 14–Aug 21, 2017
Valhalla Pines – private room queen bed & WIFI
Awesome place, super inviting and warm. Tom is a great guy to chat with and give advice about what to do around. Will definitely go back!